top of page

Foster among finalists for prestigious racing award

29th September 2021

Louis Foster has been selected in the final four drivers to compete for the prestigious Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award, which has been won previously by drivers who have gone on to race in Formula 1. Foster, 18, has been racing outside of the UK for the first time this year in the Euroformula Open Championship with the CryptoTower Racing Team. Despite having to learn six out of the eight tracks on the schedule, he has fought for and led the championship, and remains in contention going into the last round at Barcelona in October. The Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award (AMABA) has been won previously by the likes of Jenson Button, David Coulthard, Lando Norris and George Russell. The award pits four drivers against each other in a number of tasks to assess their talents on an even-playing field. The winner receives £200,000.

“I am honoured to have been included and in with a chance to win this amazing award,” said Foster, who is backed by Copart, a global leader in vehicle remarketing and recycling.
“You only have to look at the institutions of British motorsport that are part of the name of this prize, and what the judges have achieved in their careers, to know how serious this whole thing is.
“This is a great way to kick off the final part of my season, which has been challenging but rewarding, and I’m looking forward to getting a taste of these new and exciting cars we’ll get to try at the event.
“It’s my first time reaching the final four so the goal will be to learn as quickly as possible, and to impress the judges with my level of progression through the event.
“I can’t wait to get started, and I want to thank everybody behind me for their support as well as everyone involved in the award for selecting me.”

Foster will compete for the award over two days at Silverstone where he will drive a MotorSport Vision Formula 2 car, Ginetta LMP3 sportscar and an Aston Martin Vantage GT3 machine. The British Racing Drivers’ Club vice-president and F1 driver steward Derek Warwick acts as the chairman of the judging panel. The judges are made up of previous award winners Darren Turner, Andrew Kirkaldy and Alexander Sims, engineer Leena Gade, double British Touring Car champion Jason Plato, commentator Ian Titchmarsh, Autosport Chief Editor Kevin Turner and successful designer Mark Williams.

The winner will be announced at the Autosport Awards on 19 December.

Foster is no stranger to Silverstone where he raced at in his four-year career in the UK, winning there in the FIA British F4 championship in 2019.

87 views0 comments


bottom of page